July 03, 2019

2 new foreign investment negative lists unveiled

Two new foreign investment negative lists, one for the whole country and the other for free trade zones, were jointly released by the National Development and Reform Commission and the Ministry of Commerce on June 30.

The negative list for the country, with the number of items down to 40 from 48 in the previous version, will further open up and ease restrictions in the services, manufacturing, agricultural and mining industries.

For example, foreign investors will be allowed to own a majority stake in urban gas and heat-supply pipe networks in cities with a population of over 500,000 people.

The list that applies to FTZs reduces the number of items from 45 to 37 and further removes or loosens foreign access restrictions in more fields, including shipping agency, urban gas, cinema, performance brokerage, telecommunication services as well as exploration and production of oil and gas.

The two lists will come into effect on July 30.